Alaska Courses

This is the new version of the Alaska Teacher Placement (ATP) forum for teachers, education majors, and school administrators to discuss working and living in the state of Alaska. Those considering an Alaskan job, or considering a new Alaskan education job ask questions, and those with information and/or opinions provide answers. Although many users are teacher or principal candidates from the Lower 48, a large number of current and former school district HR and school administrators subscribe.

Moderators: Johncn, Betty Walters, Toni McFadden, Damon Hargraves

Alaska Courses

Postby aliciahicks » Mon Mar 15, 2021 4:26 pm

Good Evening,
I’m a teacher coming from California. I was wondering what were the exact courses I had to take to receive an Alaska Teaching Credential. I have been teaching in California for 20 years now, and I do hold a Professional Clear Multiple Subject Teaching Credential with a CLAD (Crosscultural, Language and Academic Development) emphasis.
My first question is would I be required to take all of the classes that are under University of Alaska Anchorage which are: Alaska Native Perspectives all the way to Alaska Government and Politics (12 courses total)? Or do I have to take Multicultural Studies for Alaska Teachers and Cultural Responsive Teaching and Alaska Studies: An Introduction into Teaching in Alaska Communities only? Lastly, can I only take these classes after I’m hired? I ask because Anchorage School District sent me an email explaining that I should pursue my state certification. So I’m a little confused. Any answers to any of the questions would be so grateful.

Sincerely,
Alicia Hicks
aliciahicks

Re: Alaska Courses

Postby Johncn » Mon Mar 15, 2021 4:53 pm

Hi Alicia,