Saving money

This is the new version of the Alaska Teacher Placement (ATP) forum for teachers, education majors, and school administrators to discuss working and living in the state of Alaska. Those considering an Alaskan job, or considering a new Alaskan education job ask questions, and those with information and/or opinions provide answers. Although many users are teacher or principal candidates from the Lower 48, a large number of current and former school district HR and school administrators subscribe.

Moderators: Johncn, Betty Walters, Toni McFadden, Damon Hargraves

Saving money

Postby amanda12345 » Sat Nov 28, 2015 12:53 pm

I am a certified 5-12 English teacher. I also have a journalism degree and have worked as a journalist for 10 years. I recently received my teaching credentials in Montana and I'm interested in teaching in Alaska. I'm wondering how much money I could save working there for a year. I know if varies by district and location, and I'm open to teaching anywhere. Could someone give me an idea, a range?
amanda12345

Re: Save money

Postby Johncn » Sun Nov 29, 2015 5:58 am

I am a certified 5-12 English teacher....I'm wondering how much money I could save working there for a year. I know if varies by district and location, and I'm open to teaching anywhere. Could someone give me an idea, a range?

Amanda,

English teachers are in demand, but there is no way to guess how much anyone can save working in Alaska for a year. There are way too many variables that are unknowns. There are input variables such as these:

How much will you make? - Varies widely throughout the state. Beginning teachers can start anywhere from $40,000 (Southeast Alaska) to $57,000 (North Slope). You can search for any Alaska district's "negotiated agreement" (teacher's union contract) online, as they are nearly all on the district or NEA website.