Moving from Kuwait

This is the new version of the Alaska Teacher Placement (ATP) forum for teachers, education majors, and school administrators to discuss working and living in the state of Alaska. Those considering an Alaskan job, or considering a new Alaskan education job ask questions, and those with information and/or opinions provide answers. Although many users are teacher or principal candidates from the Lower 48, a large number of current and former school district HR and school administrators subscribe.

Moderators: Johncn, Betty Walters, Toni McFadden, Damon Hargraves

Moving from Kuwait

Postby lardas » Sun Nov 08, 2015 3:19 am

I am an American currently living in Kuwait. I miss trees, rain, all kinds of nature, and since my son lives on the West Coast I am thinking Alaska would be a good fit. I am a nontraditional special education teacher who has been to Alaska before and loved it. I am looking at Annette Island but am thinking Juneau or anywhere in the south might be fun. Ideally I would like a learning coach position as I am really tired of the classroom. However, I would keep the classroom if it meant being able to use a kayak and hike on a regular basis. Any suggestions would be most welcome!
lardas

Re: Moving from Kuwait

Postby Johncn » Sun Nov 08, 2015 7:06 am

Hi,

Welcome to the ATP Forum. Anywhere in Southeast has access to kayaking and hiking. The key is going to be finding the kind of classroom environment you want: regular schools like anywhere else (Juneau, Sitka), traditionally organized schools on a small scale (hub cities larger towns), or multigrade classrooms (logging camps, remote schools).