Looking to return to AK

This is the new version of the Alaska Teacher Placement (ATP) forum for teachers, education majors, and school administrators to discuss working and living in the state of Alaska. Those considering an Alaskan job, or considering a new Alaskan education job ask questions, and those with information and/or opinions provide answers. Although many users are teacher or principal candidates from the Lower 48, a large number of current and former school district HR and school administrators subscribe.

Moderators: Johncn, Betty Walters, Toni McFadden, Damon Hargraves

Looking to return to AK

Postby mbrown108 » Mon Aug 03, 2015 10:28 am

Hey all, I am a National Board Certified Teacher in Adolescent Literacy, currently working as the Director of Training for AmeriCorps NCCC. I would like to return to Alaska (taught there 2008-2010) in preferably an administrative role, but also wouldn't mind teaching. I am also certified in Secondary Social Studies. The hubby is certified in Math and Science and currently working as the Headmaster of a private school. If you have or know of anything available that might fit the bill, please drop us a line. Thanks, Mindy
mbrown108

Re: Looking to return to AK

Postby Bushteachers » Mon Aug 03, 2015 5:03 pm

Look into openings with Iditarod Area School district. I doubt an administrator position will be found this late, but there are still jobs out there. I am almost positive that IASD has zero math teachers at the moment.
Bushteachers

Re: Looking to return to AK

Postby Johncn » Tue Aug 04, 2015 3:24 am

Mindy,

The first thing I would recommend is to make sure your ATP Applitrack file is up to date for you and your husband. Any files not active in the last year will be deactivated manually by ATP a bit later this month. They do it every August, so log in and update now to avoid becoming invisible. ;-)